Reflecting on the First Six Weeks: Navigating Challenges and Setting the Pace in my Outreachy Internship.

Reflecting on the First Six Weeks: Navigating Challenges and Setting the Pace in my Outreachy Internship.

Greetings!

It's astonishing to realize that I'm already six weeks into my internship with Outreachy. Time seems to have flown by since the day I started, and now here I am, reflecting on the journey so far.

As I look back on the progress from the inception of my internship until now, I feel satisfied with my achievements. I've managed to establish a steady pace that aligns with my goals for the remainder of the internship. At the outset, my co-intern and I assessed our project, Mboacare, and documented its various stages of contribution. Our analysis indicated a substantial amount of work ahead, encompassing tasks such as completing UI screens, implementing functionalities, and finalizing API endpoints.

I'm delighted to report that we have successfully completed the outstanding screens and API endpoints. Two weeks ago, I took on the responsibility of developing the hospital module, allowing users to view, search for, add, and edit hospitals. Although I encountered initial challenges with API endpoints, the guidance from my mentor and collaboration with my co-intern have proven invaluable. We are now on the verge of completing the implementation of functionalities and will soon transition to testing the Mboacare App.

In any software project, technical challenges are inevitable—be it bugs or compile-time errors. Resolving such issues can be time-consuming, potentially affecting project timelines. Recognizing this, my community emphasizes task prioritization based on importance and internship duration. We have recently re-strategized, and I am committed to making the next six weeks exceptionally productive by enhancing communication and delivering high-quality work.